How far I’ve come…

Are you a risk taker? I am not. Never have been. I do not like heights, bridges or swimming in the ocean. I also hate not having a plan and uncertainty. I certainly have never taken a risk with my career. I went to college, got a degree and a job. I grew that job into a career. One I thought I would do forever. Steady growth in a corporation. A pay check every two weeks. It was what I envisioned. I secretly wished I had the guts to run a business. Take crazy risks. Anything different than what I was doing. Of course, I never shared this with anyone in my life. These were secrets deep in my mind. Until, I was blessed with the opportunity to seize my dream. With a layoff in May 2012, I remember thinking ‘this is it!’, ‘give it a go’. Take the leap. Believe in yourself and GO. GET. THEM!

Funny how those thoughts were buried under the little black cloud of fear.
When I decided to go on my own, I went with what I technically knew what to do- strategy execution and project management. It was photo-1429277096327-11ee3b761c93
easy and I felt I could do it.  It was fun and I learned a lot of things (what companies I enjoyed working for, what types of clients I work best with, etc.). I also learned I missed not helping others reach their potential. This was the foundation of my entire 15 year corporate career. As a team leader, mentor and volunteer career coach, I yearned to help individuals reach their potential and develop a sense of confidence in themselves. As an independent consultant, I didn’t have that. And, I needed it. It had to be a part, if not, all of what I did in my professional life. Thus, I threw caution to the wind and started believing I could do it. I launched my professional development business, Through-The-Hayes officially in July 2014!

When I started out, I knew very little. Wow, how far you come after diving into something head first. What I thought I would be doing has evolved. Grown into something I couldn’t have envisioned. I am thrilled and inspired by all the amazing people I am blessed to help. I have learned what I am great at- inspiring others to gain awareness to their strengths, energies, desires and more. This is the foundation to building a solid plan for them-whether their goal is to find a new career, become more engaged in the career they have, build their leadership skills or bring balance to their entire lives. I also never considered myself an expert in communication, but I am. I can clearly help individuals articulate their wants/desires.  I can write it for them in a way that describes them to a T on paper. Teach them the power of confidence in communication and more. Things that I am naturally great at are what make my business what it is today.

I am happy to have survived the first year in business and I am even happier to look back and think wow-look how far I have come. I wonder what the next year will bring. And the year after that and so on. It’s what keeps me going day after day.

I am curious- have you tried something new or taken a risk? If so, how did it work out for you? What did you learn? Tell me, I would love to know!

To Your Growth, Development and Amazing Potential,

Lisa Hayes

Please share this blog with others who are looking for growth, excitement or guidance in their professional lives.

Leave a Reply

